Frequently Asked Questions

Signing Up

Is it really free to message other users? What's the catch?

Yes it is free and always will be! No catch.

How can you make this app/website free to use?

Simply put, we play the numbers game. Since H.Dating is free, in theory, more people will join. The more people that join, the more will consider upgrading for additional benefits. We may also sell non-identifying generic data to interested third parties or show non-upgraded users ads to generate revenue in accordance with our privacy policy. Your privacy is our top priority, so we will NEVER disclose names, locations, birthdays, or emails to any third party! Other registered users may, however, see the first/nick name and location you used when you created your profile.

Do I have to put my name and location when I sign up?

You have to put a name and location, but we are fine with you using a nick name or pseudonym and a nearby zip code instead of your actual one.

Logging In

I forgot my password. Help?

You can reset your password here.

Why can't I log in?

You must verify your email before logging in. It is just a one-time thing to help prevent fake profiles.

Notifications

How do I adjust/turn off notification emails?

You can do so in your settings.

How do I adjust/turn off push/app notifications?

You can manage push notifications for this app under the app settings on your mobile device. You should also be able to tap and hold one of our notifications and see settings to adjust them there as well.

Browse/Matches

Why aren't there many results when I browse my matches?

Your results are based on your match preferences. Try broadening your criteria for more results.

Conversations & Likes

Why are my conversations and/or likes disappearing or getting deleted?

Conversations will be moved to your deleted conversations (delete icon) if they are deleted by either party of the conversation or are older than 6 months. Conversations in your deleted conversations for over a month will be permanently removed. If you block the other party of the conversation or they block you, any corresponding conversations or likes will be removed from view for both of you. You may manage blocked users here (block icon under the "Settings" menu option).

Why can't I like or message anyone?

If you set your profile to Invisible, you will be unable to like or message anyone. Only users with active profiles can send likes and messages.

Why can I only see so much of my conversation history?

While you can send and receive as many messages as you like for free, we limit each conversation to the last 50 messages (sent and received combined) to make sure everyone has an optimal experience on H.Dating.

Photos

Why can't I upload more than 4 photos?

Non-upgraded users can only upload 4 photos. Upgrading will increase your photo limit to 40.

Why am I getting an error while trying to upload my photo?

Photos must be in JPG format only and less than 20MB in size. If this does not solve your problem, feel free to contact us.

Why did my photo(s) disappear?

Is likely the photo(s) depicted nudity, copyrighted material, racism, or something illegal and someone reported it to us.

Profile

How do I edit my profile?

You can edit your profile by tapping/clicking the "Profile" menu option and then the edit icon.

How do I hide/deactivate my profile?

You can hide your profile from others by tapping/clicking the "Settings" menu option and changing the "Profile status" drop-down box from Active to Deactivate. You can leave it like this for as long as you want.

How do I delete my profile?

You can delete your profile by tapping/clicking the "Settings" menu option and following the "Delete your profile" link. Deleting your profile cannot be undone, and all of your data and photos will be removed.

Upgrading

Why should I upgrade?

While using the website is completely free, upgrading will give you access to features not available to non-upgraded users. Upgraded features include:

  • Seeing who has liked your profile
  • Seeing if/when conversations are viewed by the user you messaged
  • Seeing when a user was last online
  • Conversations with you appear above non-upgraded users, increasing your reply rate
  • Your profile appears higher and more prominently in results than non-upgraded profiles
  • Ability to upload more than 5 photos (up to 50!)
  • Invisibility mode so you can browse other users without them knowing
  • See all answers to compatibility questions, even those you didn't answer yourself
  • Always ad-free experience

How much does it cost to upgrade?

We believe the price should be both fair and affordable, so we charge a reasonable $12.99 (USD) per month.

Can I purchase the upgrade if I am not in the United States?

Of course, Stripe (our payment processor) handles the currency conversion in the background.

What happens to my extra photos if I cancel/downgrade?

Any existing photos will remain on your profile, but you will not be able to add any more until you renew or until your photo count is below 4.

Troubleshooting

The app is glitchy/not working all the sudden. What can I do to fix it?

You can reset the app to factory settings by tapping/clicking the "Settings" menu option and then the settings_backup_restore icon. There will be a reset link that will take care of it for you.